St Farnans Notes

There was a large crowd present for the Annual Underage Presentation Function which was held in Dromore West Community Centre on Sunday last. Club chairperson Lorna Harte-Gilroy acted as MC for the event at which newly elected Ladies Co. Bd. Chairman, Keith Gilroy and Sligo Ladies Intermediate panellists Jacqui Mulligan and Leah Kelly were the special guests who assisted with the various presentations. Keith praised the club for its continuous efforts to provide football for the young girls of the area while Jacqui urged the players to prolong their footballing careers for as long as possible.

The U-8’s and U-10’s were presented with special medals as a reward for their commitment over the year. Team manager Sarah O’Connell informed those present that there were a total of 24 players in this group and she was delighted to be associated with them. She drew comparisons with her own playing days with the Aughnasheelin and Sean O’Heslin’s clubs in county Leitrim and the enjoyment she derived from training and playing and of the lifelong friendships made and said these memories have far outlived those of any trophies won. April Finnegan and Sophie Burns were named as the most committed players at U-8 while Megan Walsh, Ava Donlon and Lucy O’Brien were named as the players having shown the most improvement in the same grade. At U-10 level Kayleigh Walsh and Chloe Burns took the awards for most committed with Amy Broderick, Maura Scott and Rachel McAndrew being named as the most improved.

The U-12’s were presented with their “B” League Runners-up medals and had Ciara O’Carroll and Sadhbh Williams named as most committed and most improved players respectively.

In the U-14 grade Ciara McGee took the award for most improved and Rachel O’Brien was named Player of the Year.

The U-16 team brought some silverware to the club as “B” League winners and were presented with their medals. Leona Devaney received an individual award for being the squads most improved player while Claire Dunne won the trophy for Player of the Year.

In winning the “B” C’ship the Minor team was arguably the clubs most successful side for the year and they received their medals from Keith Gilroy who was performing his first official function as Co. Bd. Chairperson. The side’s goalkeeper Siobhain Lang was named Player of the Year in the grade. Anne Cunnane who jointly managed the side with Don McCloat praised the players for their continued commitment and acknowledged the continuing warm welcome extended by the club to herself and the players from St. Patricks.

Hard luck to Sligo Intermediate Ladies on their defeat to Galway in the final of the Winter League recently. Neither Jacqui nor Leah played any part in the game as both continue to recovery from injuries.

The club is in the process of establishing a footballing nursery to assist with coaching players aged from five years up. It is planned to hold one session per week for six weeks and players will be asked to contribute €2 per session. The venue will be St. Joseph’s N.S., Templeboy. Further details from club officers.

Plans are now being finalised for our club’s big fundraising dance which will be held in the Diamond Coast Hotel on April 6th next. Country music star Robert Mizzell will provide the music for what is already promising to be a great night.

Hard luck to the members of the St. Farnan’s Instrumental Music Group who were unsuccessful at the Connacht Finals of Scór na nÓg.

Congratulations to St. Nathy’s clubman Liam McDonagh who has been elected chairperson of the Connacht LGFA. He will have plenty of support from his native county on the new executive with Ted Maloney (Vice-Chairperson) and Keith Gilroy (PRO) also elected.

Sympathy is extended to Siobhain KIlrehill and her extended family on the death of her father in Co. Mayo, to club player Emily Burns and her family on the death of her aunt in Dublin and to the Niland family of Curry, on the untimely passing of Lisa. Ar dheis Dé go raibh said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *